Friday, June 13, 2014

Calling All to --Disaster App Challenge, atten APP development teams, help earth win cash.

The National Defense University’s Center for Technology and National Security Policy (CTNSP) will be launching a Disaster Apps Challenge. 

The CTNSP Disaster Apps Challenge encourages developers to build upon an open source disaster relief application that is already being used in the field. The challenge is looking for disaster aps that are well built and useful to a broad range of users. The challenge offers developers the opportunity to demonstrate their application’s value to citizens and first responders.

A $3,000 cash award will be given to the winner. Second place will receive $1,500 and third place will receive $500. Winners will receive mentoring and feedback on further development of their applications, along with exposure to experts and organizations across the disaster response field.

The competition kicks off at 12:00 p.m. EST and submissions will be accepted between March 19, 2014 to June 20, 2014. 

To learn more visit

National Defense University is the Nation’s premier national security institution focused on advanced joint education, leader development, and scholarship. The University is an accredited graduate-level institution that provides an educational and research environment to prepare future leaders of the Armed Forces and civilian agencies for high-level policy, command, and staff responsibilities.

Saturday, May 31, 2014

2014 Rick Rescorla National Award for Resilience Submissions.

The application period for the 2014 Rick Rescorla National Award for Resilience is open! The Rick Rescorla National Award for Resilience is the Department of Homeland Security’s (DHS) first national resilience award for superior leadership and innovation by an organization who exemplifies the qualities and achievements of Rick Rescorla, emphasizing leadership in effective preparation, response, and recovery in the face of disasters. DHS will present the 2014 Rescorla Award to honorees in three categories:
  • Individuals;
  • Not-for-profit organizations; and
  • For-profit organizations.
Eligible candidates may be nominated for the award during the nomination period which closes on July 17, 2014 at 11:59 p.m (EDT). All nominations must be submitted by email to the following DHS email  The nomination form can be found at
For criteria, eligibility and additional information check out

Tuesday, April 22, 2014

What does it mean years later to be a crisis responder

From CrowdMapping in Hurricane Sandy to by a few skilled CrisisMappers, to wide scale crowdsourcing of it during Super Typhoon Haiyan that hit the Philippians.
In only a few short years we come a very long way; And, from a group floor seat I'm impressed and resilient knowing it gets better.  And! indeed better is coming. So please make sure you subscribe to this blog and be in on the announcement.